The period of the Five Wudai Dynasties and the Ten Shiguo Kingdoms

The period of the Five Wudai Dynasties (五代 907-960) and the Ten Shiguo Kingdoms (十 國 902-979): a time of great upheaval.

From the fall of the last Tang emperor until the founding of the Song dynasty in 960, the central plain at the heart of the Chinese ecumene is marked by many upheavals that we suggest you study. Thus, five dynasties succeed one another or coexist in these areas of eastern China, and in the south ten kingdoms are installed between 902 and 979. On the other hand, on the borders of these territories, other regimes are founded by peoples. of various ethnic groups, such as the Khitan, the Tibetans, the Bohai, the Tangut, and the Nanzhao on which we will focus. Finally, we will recall the importance of the literati of this time in transmitting a Chinese culture strongly influenced by Taoist thought and which then inspired painters and poets within the movement “Varied landscapes”. A current of thought that makes nature a true source of harmony.

Arnaud BECUWE 
Professor of History-Geography at the L.F.S., Doctor of Medieval History, graduate in Anthropology (M.D.) associate researcher at C.A.H.M.E.R.

Alain PIÉLIN  
Chinese teacher at the L.F.S, graduated in Letters and Human Sciences and in Chinese (M.D.)